Talking Carlton Index Lochie O'Brien Kerryn Harrington Lochie O'Brien Kerryn Harrington CFC Home CFC Membership CFC Shop CFC Fixture Blueseum
It is currently Fri Jun 27, 2025 7:11 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Was it a point?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:09 pm 
Offline
Harry Vallence

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 2:01 pm
Posts: 1381
at half time, the bummers were awarded a behind after the ball was punched through.

i want to see the replay but was it a legit point?

_________________
SMFC 1959 : ONE LIFE, ONE LOVE, ONE CLUB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:10 pm 
Offline
Alex Jesaulenko
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 20258
Location: 父 父 父 父 父 父
I didn't think so. I thought touched on the line was OK, thumped through after the siren was play on.

Could be wrong...

_________________
Congratulations CK95


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:13 pm 
Offline
Bruce Doull
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:41 pm
Posts: 63509
I'm with Hammer.

If it was punched through by a Bummer, then it's play on, ie: dead ball.

F*cking cheats! :evil: :evil:

_________________
And so while others miserably pledge themselves to the pursuit of ambition and brief power, I will be stretched out in the shade, singing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:18 pm 
Offline
Harry Vallence
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:13 pm
Posts: 1830
Location: Fitzroy
I thought that at the time too. I was under the impression that it should be a dead ball and no score.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:27 pm 
Offline
Ken Hands

Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 10:45 pm
Posts: 423
and Thornton touched a goal paid to Lucas.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:37 pm 
Offline
Alex Jesaulenko
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:00 am
Posts: 23123
This is the pic at the point of contact from Foxtel.

Image

Patrick Ryder (I think :?: ) is the essendoomed player and there are two carlton players. Looks like they all seem to make contact with the ball, although Ryder did come at the pack with momentum and a straight arm, so maybe his contact sent it throught the goalface.

Not sure what the rules are but it could be argued it was off a pack.

_________________
|♥♥♥♥♥♥| http://www.blueseum.org |♥♥♥♥♥♥|


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:42 pm 
Offline
Bruce Doull
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 8:23 am
Posts: 48684
Location: Canberra
Jarusa wrote:
This is the pic at the point of contact from Foxtel.

Image

Patrick Ryder (I think :?: ) is the essendoomed player and there are two carlton players. Looks like they all seem to make contact with the ball, although Ryder did come at the pack with momentum and a straight arm, so maybe his contact sent it throught the goalface.

Not sure what the rules are but it could be argued it was off a pack.


They said it was off the pack on the telly.

Pfft who cares, we didn't lose, the Bumbers are still below us, that's all that really matters. :P

_________________
Click here to follow TalkingCarlton on twitter
TalkingCarlton Posting Rules


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:44 pm 
Offline
Bruce Doull
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:41 pm
Posts: 63509
camelboy wrote:
Pfft who cares, we didn't lose, the Bumbers are still below us, that's all that really matters. :P


Very true.

Plus, the draw will piss their supporters off even more than a loss!

_________________
And so while others miserably pledge themselves to the pursuit of ambition and brief power, I will be stretched out in the shade, singing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:45 pm 
Offline
Craig Bradley

Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 8:57 pm
Posts: 6836
the ruling is that a player from the same team cannot hit the ball through the goals in that case its no point but if an opposition player hits the ball through the goals then it is awarded a point and it was very obvious that ryder fisted the ball through the goals therefore the point shouldnt have been awarded. the only thing im annoyed about is that we were the team that ended their losing streak. :evil:

_________________
Last edited by true_blue3 on Mon Sep 26, 1981 5:07 pm; edited 92 times in total


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:49 pm 
Offline
Bruce Comben

Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 5:48 pm
Posts: 49
Haven't seen a replay - didn't actually watch the incident but was shocked when the ump called it a point. Law is as follows:

Quote:
12.5.2 Football Touched in Transit
A Behind shall still be recorded under Law 12.5.1 if the football is
touched in transit by another Player, provided the field Umpire is
satisfied that the scoring of the Behind was not assisted by a Player
from the same Team.


Of course the other issue was the first Lucas goal of the game was clearly touched - yet given a goal. So if both decisions went our way - a 6pt victory to us. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 9:20 pm 
Offline
Ken Hunter

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 3:12 pm
Posts: 10576
Location: FBT
:arrow: Thornton touched the ball. Hence a point.

:arrow: The ball didn't go in after Lucas kicked it, nor did it go in at all. Hence nothing.

Video Referee :lol:

_________________
Karma

Loyal & Proud


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 9:24 pm 
Offline
Bruce Doull
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:41 pm
Posts: 63509
BlueChick2122 wrote:
:arrow: Thornton touched the ball. Hence a point.

:arrow: The ball didn't go in after Lucas kicked it, nor did it go in at all. Hence nothing.

Video Referee :lol:


And in every case where video proves the maggots wrong, we get to batter Jeff Gieschen with a dead turkey.

_________________
And so while others miserably pledge themselves to the pursuit of ambition and brief power, I will be stretched out in the shade, singing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:18 pm 
Offline
Bert Deacon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 9:38 pm
Posts: 564
Location: Talking Sport
Was very confused by that decision today, was up in arms, but no support from the carlton supporters sitting around me.

Jeez we kicked some flukey goals today. Simmo and Kouta from the boundary, :o

_________________
Blue is the Colour, Football is the game...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:38 pm 
Offline
Alex Jesaulenko
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 20258
Location: 父 父 父 父 父 父
As I said on the drive home, I didn't want to entertain the idea of the game being 'awarded' to us because of that (it wouldn't have been, but it was a hypothetical discussion).

Winning is a feeling that must take place at the ground. After that, I didn't care.

Of course if it got us in to the top 4 I may feel differently, but I've got at least 5 years to come to terms with that situation I reckon.

_________________
Congratulations CK95


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 11:25 pm 
Offline
Ken Hands

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 7:34 pm
Posts: 488
Location: Essendon
true_blue24 wrote:
the ruling is that a player from the same team cannot hit the ball through the goals in that case its no point but if an opposition player hits the ball through the goals then it is awarded a point and it was very obvious that ryder fisted the ball through the goals therefore the point shouldnt have been awarded. the only thing im annoyed about is that we were the team that ended their losing streak. :evil:


Actually, the ruling is that a behind can't be rushed after the siren. It can be touched (and therefore have the behind awarded to Lucas) but the ball was rushed and shouldn't be awarded a point. It has nothing to do with which team hit it over.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 11:35 pm 
Offline
Craig Bradley

Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 8:57 pm
Posts: 6836
jack_4 wrote:
true_blue24 wrote:
the ruling is that a player from the same team cannot hit the ball through the goals in that case its no point but if an opposition player hits the ball through the goals then it is awarded a point and it was very obvious that ryder fisted the ball through the goals therefore the point shouldnt have been awarded. the only thing im annoyed about is that we were the team that ended their losing streak. :evil:


Actually, the ruling is that a behind can't be rushed after the siren. It can be touched (and therefore have the behind awarded to Lucas) but the ball was rushed and shouldn't be awarded a point. It has nothing to do with which team hit it over.


please have a look at the rule which buzz has posted earlier in this topic.

_________________
Last edited by true_blue3 on Mon Sep 26, 1981 5:07 pm; edited 92 times in total


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GWS, Nitrille, Stefchook and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group